Denver — June 28, 2015 — Results of the 2015 Western Conservative Summit Presidential Straw Poll are in and the winner for the second year in a row is Dr. Ben Carson with 224 votes. Carly Fiorina came in second with 201 votes and Scott Walker was a close third with 192 votes.

Results were announced at Sunday’s closing session. Attendees included conservatives, members of the faith community, Republican volunteers, Tea Party activists and community and business leaders and students. Noted Summit speakers this weekend were Dr. Ben Carson, Governor Scott Walker, Governor Rick Perry, Rick Santorum, Carly Fiorina, and Mike Huckabee.

Below are the results for the WCS Straw Poll and the text of the ballot:

“Who should succeed Obama? Again this year, Summit delegates are invited to vote their choice in each party for the Presidency in 2016. Our first straw poll in 2011 went to Herman Cain. The 2012 vice-presidential winner was Marco Rubio. The presidential preference winner in 2013 was Ted Cruz, and in 2014 it was Ben Carson. For 2015, we welcome Washington Examiner as official sponsor of the poll.

“Vote for only one in each column. No write-ins. Voting is open all weekend, and we’ll tabulate the results just before adjournment on Sunday noon. Your badge is your voting credential. A poll-watcher will punch it to indicate you have voted. Extra ballots available at the polling places.”


Republican Possibilities:

Ben Carson-224

Carly Fiorina-201

Scott Walker-192

Ted Cruz-100

Rand Paul-34

Marco Rubio-24

Rick Perry-20

Rick Santorum-16

Donald Trump-15

Mike Huckabee-13

Bobby Jindal-9

Bill Armstrong-6

Jeb Bush-4

John Kasich-4

Chris Christie-3

Lindsey Graham-3

Mitt Romney-3

George Pataki-0


Democratic Possibilities:

Jim Webb-83

Hillary Clinton-48

Bernie Sanders-42

Joe Biden-39

Elizabeth Warren-21

Martin O’Malley-17

Lincoln Chafee-16

Michelle Obama-15

Harry Reid-8

Nancy Pelosi-5