News: Circle of Distinction Awarded

National Leadership Honors Presented to Colorado Christian University

Colorado Christian University (CCU) was recently presented the Circle of Distinction Award from national leadership honor society Omicron Delta Kappa. The commendation recognized CCU for exemplary achievement in the areas of scholarship and leadership during the 2005-2006 academic year.

Omicron Delta Kappa Society, Inc. was founded in 1914 by student and faculty leaders at Washington and Lee University in Lexington, Virginia; in 1992, the honor society was officially merged as Omicron Delta Kappa Society, Inc. Society chapters, known as Circles, are located at college campuses across the United States. Omicron Delta Kappa recognizes achievement in the areas of scholarship; athletics; campus/community service, social/religious activities, and campus government; journalism, speech, and mass media; and creative and performing arts.

The 2005-2006 award criterion and recipients were personally determined by the executive director of Omicron Delta Kappa. Among the 308 participating Circles in the Society, CCU is one of only 20 that were given this formal recognition.

"Our students are making a global difference in part through the lifelong practice of knowledge and character development," stated CCU President Bill Armstrong. "Our university is honored to receive this award on their behalf."

Historic members of Omicron Delta Kappa have included former president Franklin D. Roosevelt, Walter Cronkite, and retired NASA astronaut F. Story Musgrave.